top of page
Writer's pictureDust It Yourself - Sophie

[2020] Sint Maarten Bird Park


We have been in Sint Maarten [Dutch Side] & Saint Martin [French Side] several times but we rarely take the time to visit the Islands attractions. There is always a lot to do on board and there is also diving and kiteboarding, also time well spent.


When Sebastien recently went to Grand Case to pick up some packages [our new photo camera ;-) ] he saw a sign for the "Parotte Ville Bird Park" in Sint Maarten. So I went to check it out and at the same time a great opportunity to test the new photo camera. [more about our camera choice to come soon...]


The park has about 150 parrots and birds that come to close contact. I went in the morning for the opening [which was about half on hour delayed, but I didn't mind] and paid the entrance fee of 10 USD. When entering the big aviary you get a pot with bird food and the birds love it!!! Often my arm was not long enough to take pictures as the birds were all over my arm and hand. Some landed on my shoulders and head. Note that if they "cry" next to your ear, this can be very loud.




All in all, a great experience, I would definitively recommend it. Ir would have been nice to be two [have Sebastien with me but he was busy overseas] to have a picture that shows the birds on my head and to share the experience. I am still glad that I went even by myself.


By the way - I love my new Fuji XT3 - it makes great pictures!!! Just the photographer [me] still needs to improve. I'm hoping for a steep learning curve ;-)


Here are some of the pictures.


Let me know your thoughts in the comments below and don't hesitate to send me a message if you want more details about the Bird Park.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page